Since the GDPR, account deletion has become more of a right than a privilege. No more will your accounts rot away in the depths of the internet, for everyone to see. Now, you can just delete your account and all data associated with it. Sure, the data might remain on their servers, but at least it doesn’t remain publicly, which is good enough for most of us.
EDIT: Recent fines have led companies to add “Reject all” buttons to their cookie banners.